Vitality Blast (T20 Blast) is an official T20-over contest for cricket players, conducted yearly from May to July & organized by the England & Wales Cricket Board in 2003. The tournament format consists of Group stage & knockout, with 133 matches including semi-final & final.

Which is the most successful team in T20 Blast since its inception?

As far as the most victorious team of T20 Blast is concerned, Leicestershire Foxes ranked at the top & has the highest winning ratio compared to other franchises (Three Titles).

Twenty20 Cup (2003-2009):

The administrator organized its inaugural season (Twenty20 cup) in July 2003, and Surrey Lions won it by 9 wickets. The leading cricket association observed six champions in seven series from 2003-2009. Twenty20 cup series had 18 participants, with a total of 45+ matches. Afterwards, the president of ECB notified about bringing some modifications to the cricket format, splitting the franchises into 2 divisions inspired by IPL. T20 Blast advertisement made uniquely in such order ‘’I don’t like cricket, I LOVE IT.’’

Friends Provident/Friends Life T20 (2010-2013):

Friends Provident T20 includes 151 matches during the 2010 and 2011 series & 97 group matches during 2012 and 2013, among 18 franchises. The President of EC decided to divide the teams into North and South Groups. In 2010, Hampshire Royals won the final trophy by beating a strong opponent Somerset. In 2011, Somerset and Leicestershire made it to the final round, but Somerset lost the match by 18 runs. The fourth & last season of Friends life had a final match between Surrey and Northamptonshire Steelbacks in August 2013, and surrey lost the match.

Read More: Cricket Ireland Inter-Provincial Trophy Winners List 2013-2022

Natwest T20 Blast:

The newest T20 Blast was introduced in 2014, having four seasons with exclusive & remarkable success. Natwest signed the sponsorship with T20 Blast for 4 years.

The initial victors of this brand were Birmingham Bears (won by 4 runs), defeating Lancashire Lightning in 2014. On 02 September 2017, during the final season of Natwest T20 Blast, Notis Outlaws took the final trophy home and hailed the championship.

Vitality Blast:

Vitality Blast is another name of T20 Blast currently, due to a sponsorship agreement since 2018, having the same tournament format as previous seasons, with 18 franchises.

Read More: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule


In this article, I have explained the brief history of the T20 blast Format and its different names since its inception. By reading this article, you will get to know the names of the champions and runner-ups of all the seven seasons of the tournament over the years. This paper also covers the facts file of the T20 Blast.

T20 Blast- Facts File & Figures:

SeriesT20 Blast
AdministratorEngland and Wales Cricket Board (ECB)
Total seasons20
Current WinnerHampshire Hawks
Most successful teamLeicestershire Foxes (3 titles)
TVSky Sports
Latest Series2022

T20 Blast Winners & Runners-up over the years:

2003Surrey LionsWarwickshire BearsTrent Bridge
2004Leicestershire FoxesSurrey LionsEdgbaston
2005Somerset SabresLanchashire LightningThe Oval
2006Leicestershire FoxesNotis OutlawsTrent Bridge
2007Kent SpitfiresGloucestershire GladiatorsEdgbaston
2008Middlesex CrusadersKent SpitfiresRose Bowl
2009Sussex SharksSomerset SabresEdgbaston
2010Hampshire RoyalsSomersetRose Bowl
2012Hampshire RoyalsYorkshire CarengiaSophia Gardens
2014Birmingham BearsLanchashire LightningEdgbaston
2015Lanchashire LightningNorthamptonshireSteelbacksEdgbaston
2017Notis OutlawsBirmingham BearsEdgbaston
2018Worcestershire RapidsSussex SharksEdgbaston
2019Essex EaglesWorcestershire RapidsEdgbaston
2020Notis OutlawsSurreyEdgbaston
2021Kent SpitfiresSomersetEdgbaston
2022Hapmshire HawksLanchashire LightningEdgbaston
Previous articleCricket Ireland Inter-Provincial Trophy Winners List 2013-2022
Next articleWomen’s Twenty20 Cup Vitality Women’s County T20 Winners List