The Super Smash is an official T20 Cricket tournament organized by New Zealand Cricket Board in 2004. Super Smash has been the most-watched cricket league by spectators worldwide since the introductory series. This 20-over league is played during summer vacations yearly to attract cricket fans to the stadium. The tournament format is a Double round-robinelimination final & final round, which includes 32 matches. 

The league had also suggested some other names since its inception:

  • HRV Twenty20
  • HRV Cup
  • State Twenty20
  • New Zealand Twenty20 Competition

Which team is the most successful in Super Smash (Men’s Cricket)?

The most triumphant team of Super Smash are The Auckland Aces & Wellington Firebirds, having the same winning ratio (4 Titles) compared to other franchises since 2005.

Read More: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule

Who hailed the current championship of Super Smash (Men’s Cricket)?

Northern Brave is the current winner of Dream11 Super Smash, who played a final match vs Canterbury Kings and scored 217 runs to lift the trophy.

Super Smash (Women’s Cricket):

New Zealand Cricket Board founded a women’s version of Super Smash League in 2007. Women’s & Men’s Cricket leagues had the same format with 6 teams

Canterbury Magicians became the 1st women’s cricket association champions in 2007-08 by making 231 scores against Central Hinds. Wellington Blaze is known as the most victorious franchise (7 Times Winners) as well as the current champions of the league.

Cricket fans worldwide can watch the New Zealand Cricket series on TVNZ 1, TVNZ Duke, Spark Sport & ESPN. 

Read More: Asia Cup 2022 Shifted to UAE from Sri Lanka


In this article, I have explained the brief history of Super Smash (a renowned cricket brand), 17 seasons (As of 2022). You will know briefly about the most successful team & current champion’s names. Moreover, some facts about the Women’s Cricket league of super Smash are also mentioned in this column. The article also covers the Super Smash facts file, winners & runners-up list since its inauguration.

Super Smash– Facts File & Figures:

League Super Smash (Men’s & women’s)
AdministratorNew Zealand Cricket Board
Founded2005 Men’s & 2007 Women’s
Total seasons17
Current WinnerNorthern Brave
Most successful teamWellington Firebirds & The Auckland Aces  (3rd championship)
Latest Series2021-22

Super Smash Winners & Runners-up over the years:

This table includes the winners & Runners-up of all the seasons since league’s inaugural series:

2005-06Canterbury WizardsAuckland Aces
2006-07Auckland AcesOtago Volts
2007-08Central StagsNorthern Knights
2008-09Otago VoltsCanterbury Wizards
2009-10Central StagsAuckland Aces
2010-11Auckland AcesCentral Stags
2011-12Auckland AcesCanterbury Wizards
2012-13Otago VoltsWellington Firebirds
2013-14Northern KnightsOtago Volts
2014-15Wellington FirebirdsAuckland Aces
2015-16Auckland AcesOtago Volts
2016-17Wellington FirebirdsCentral Stags
2017-18Northern KnightsCentral Stags
2018-19Central StagsNorthern Knights
2019-20Wellington FirebirdsAuckland Aces
2020-21Wellington FirebirdsCanterbury Kings
2021-22Northern BraveCanterbury Kings
Previous articleAsia Cup 2022 Shifted to UAE from Sri Lanka
Next articleCricket Ireland Inter-Provincial Trophy Winners List 2013-2022