Pakistan Super League (PSL) is an official T20 tournament that takes place annually & organized by Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). PSL is the most famous cricket league in Pakistan’s History & its starts from February to March each year. The idea of PSL was discussed back in 2012 by PCB & introduced officially in September 2015. PSL has completed seven years of success now. At the beginning of PSL, five teams participated & after two seasons; the team introduced the name Multan Sultans (6 teams).

International cricket was banned in Pakistan in 2009 because of a terror attack on the Sri Lanka team. But PSL plays a great role in bringing cricket back to its homeland. Recently, the Australian cricket team visited Pakistan right after the 2022 PSL. 

What are the names of the team of the Pakistan Super League?

There are six PSL teams: Islamabad United, Peshawar Zalmi, Quetta Gladiators, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans.

PSL Winners over the years:

 Islamabad United is the most successful team of PSL that has won 2 titles in 2016 & 2018. Peshawar Zalmi lifted the trophy once by defeating Quetta Gladiators by 58 runs in 2017. 

In 2019, Quetta Gladiators won the PSL final from Zalmi. Karachi Kings won the PSL title under the captaincy of Imad Wasim in 2020. Multan Sultans played the final match against Peshawar Zalmi in 2021 and won the title. In 2022, Lahore Qalandars hailed the final trophy under the leadership of Shaheen Afridi against Multan Sultans. 

Read More: Asia Cup 2022: Pakistan vs India match on 28th August

PSL Winners Prize Money:

The final champion of the tournament gets a trophy along with 3.75 Crore from Pakistan Cricket Board. 1.5 Crore is awarded to the runner-up franchise of the league & while the player of the league wins 10 Lac Rupees. The highest wicket-taker, best fielder of the season, and best run scorer get 10 Lac individually. 


In this article, I have written about Pakistan Super League team names, history & champions names of all the seven seasons of PSL. 

Facts File:

Operator/AdministratorPakistan Cricket Board (PCB)
Total Number of Franchise6
Total seasons7
Current WinnerLahore Qalandars
Most successful teamIslamabad United (2 Titles)
High scoresBabar Azam (2413)
Highest Wicket-TakerWahab Riaz (103)
Most CatchesMuhammad Nawaz
Most matches played byKamran Akmal

PSL Winners List Of All Season:

2016Islamabad UnitedQuetta Gladiators
2017Peshawar ZalmiQuetta Gladiators
2018Islamabad UnitedPeshawar Zalmi
2019Quetta GladiatorsPeshawar Zalmi
2020Karachi KingsLahore Qalandars
2021Multan SultanPeshawar Zalmi
2022Lahore QalandarsMultan Sultan
Previous articleBest 4 Options for PCB to replace Shaheen Afridi at Asia Cup 2022
Next articleAsia Cup 2022: Pakistan vs India match on 28th August