Lanka Premier League (LPL) is an official T20 Domestic Cricket Association, formulated in 2018 by its administrator Sri Lanka Cricket Board. The tournament format includes Double Round-Robin & Knockout, with 24 matches including semi-final & final round. Cricket fans from different countries, i.e., Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India, United Kingdom, New Zealand, United States, Canada & Ireland, can watch Live LPL on their TV Channels. 

LPL-1st Edition (2020):

The first season of LPL in 2020 took place at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium from 26 November to 16 December & carried 23 matches, including 5 teams. Jaffna Stallions hailed the championship by 53 runs defeating their competitor Galle Gladiators in the final match. 

LPL-2nd Edition (2021):

Jaffna Kings (current winners) moved to the finale without losing any match & won the tournament trophy against Galle Gladiators by 23 runs.

LPL-3rd Edition (2022):

The tournament’s 3rd season was expected to be commenced between 31 July and 21 August 2022, with 5 franchises taking part, including 24 matches at R. Premadasa stadium & MRICS. But, due to economic crises & political instability in Sri Lanka, the series got rescheduled for any month of 2022 (dates to be announced). 

What are the names of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) franchises and their captains?

There are five teams in LPL, i.e., Dambulla Giants (Dasun Shanaka), Jaffna Kings (Thisara Perera), Colombo Stars (Angelo Matthew), Kandy Falcons (Wanindu Hasaranga) & Galle Gladiators (Kusal Mendis).

Read More: Everest Premier League Winners List 2016-2021

How much do LPL tickets cost & how can you book them?

Tickets are available at different prices, ranging from Rs 300, 1000, 2000, 3000 & 5000, and can be booked online via and Daraz.Lk.


In this article, I have written about Lanka Premier League, which completed 2 seasons and included five franchises. I have covered the brief details about the league’s seasons since its inception. Moreover, the most triumphant team & current champions are also well described in this column. The article also covers the LPL facts file, winners & runners-up list since its introductory series.

LPL- Facts File & Figures:

LeagueLanka Premier League
AdministratorSri Lanka Cricket Board
Total seasons2
Current WinnerJaffina Kings
Most successful teamJaffina Kings (2 titles)
High runsDanushka Gunathilaka
Highest Wicket-TakerWanindu Hasaranga (28)

LPL- Winners & Runners-Up over the years:

2020Jaffina Kings( won by 53 runs)
Galle Gladiators
2021Jaffina Kings (won by 23 runs)
Galle Gladiators
Previous articleBangladesh Premier League Winners & Runners Up Details
Next articleHistory of Sydney Cricket Ground & Upcoming Matches