My WordPress Blog

Everest Premier League Winners List 2016-2021

Everest Premier League (EPL) is a T20I tournament formed by its administrator, EPL Pvt. Ltd., in February 2014. The EPL cricket league format is a round-robin and knockout having national & international players & it is organized in December yearly. 
Cricket fans worldwide can watch the series on AP1 Television, Eurosport, Kantipur Gold, 1Sports & Himalaya TV etc. 

What are the names of the Everest Premier League franchises and their current captains?

EPL has been featuring six franchises since its inception, including:

  • Chitwan Tigers- Sompal Kami
  • Lalitpur Patriots- Kushal Bhurtel
  • Bhairahawa Gladiators- Sharad Vesawkar
  • Kathmandu Kings- Sandeep Lamichhane
  • Biratangar Warriors- Karac KC
  • Pokhara Rhinos- Binod Bhandari

Which is the most successful team of EPL?

EPL has completed 4 seasons with 4 finalists named Chitwan Tigers, Biratnagar Warriors, Lalitpur Patriots, and Panchakanya Tej each.

EPL- Inaugural Season (2016):

The league carried 16 matches in 1st season & Panchakanya Tej won the title against Colors X-Factors by 40 runs. Sompal Kami became the tournament player, while Aasif Sheikh scored the most runs (220) among all other players.

EPL- 2nd Edition (2017):

Everest Premier League’s second season (TVS EPL 2017), played in December 2017, carries 19 matches. Biratnagar Warriors won the final trophy by defeating Bhairahawa Gladiators by 1 run.

EPL- 3rd Edition (2018):

In the third season, Lalitpur Patriots won the final match and became the champions for the first time, defeating Bhairahawa Gladiators by 14 runs. 

Read More: Caribbean Premier League Winners List 2013-2021

EPL- 4th Edition (2021):

The fourth season of EPL was postponed (2019 to 2021) for multiple reasons, including the COVID-19 pandemic. Later, the management finalized the schedule from September 25- October 09, 2021, with 6 participants playing 19 matches. Chitwan Tigers are the current Champions of Everest Premier League, defeating Pokhara Rhinos by four Wickets scoring 114 in just 17.5 overs.


I have briefly explained the History of the Everest Premier League since its inauguration in this article. By reading this article, you will get to know the names of champions and runner-ups of all seasons.

EPL- Facts File & Figures:

LeagueEverest Premier League
AdministratorEPL Pvt. Ltd
Total Seasons4
Current WinnerChitwan Tigers
Latest Edition2021
High RunsSunil Dhamala (458)
Highest Wicket-TakerSharad Vesawkar (24)

EPL- Winners & Runners-Up over the years:

YearWinnersRunners-upFinal Venue
2016Panchakanya TejColors X-FactorTU Cricket Ground, Kirtipur
2017Biratangar WarriorsBhairahawa GladiatorsTU Cricket Ground, Kirtipur
2018Lalitpur PatriotsBhairahawa GladiatorsTU Cricket Ground, Kirtipur
2021Chitwan TigersPokhara RhinosTU Cricket Ground, Kirtipur