The Inter-Provincial Trophy (Ireland’s Cricket Association) is a 20-over tournament organized in 2012 by the Ireland Cricket Board among four provinces of Ireland. Cricket Matches in Inter-Provincial Trophy are trendy worldwide, which has boosted the cricket passion in Ireland. An incredible performance of the team & administrators in the trophy has boosted the confidence of investors to invest in Ireland Cricket Associations.

The Tournament featured three teams in the introductory season (2013), with a double round-robin & knockouts format played in the northern and southern parts of the country. Leinster Lightning won the final match against North West Warriors by 106 runs.

What are the names of the Inter-provincial Trophy franchises and their current coaches?

Ireland’s T20 league features 4 teams representing four provinces of Ireland mentioned below.

  • North West Warriors (2 Titles) – Gary Wilson
  • Northern Knights (1 Title) – Simon Johnston
  • Leinster Lightning (6 Titles) – Nigel Jones
  • Munster Reds (0 Title) – Ted Williamson

Read More: Super Smash Cricket League Winners List 2005-2021

Which is the most successful team in Inter-provincial Trophy since its inception?

Leinster Lightning is the most successful franchise having five times championships, & is part of the Tournament since the inaugural season.

Who are the current champions of the Inter-Provincial Trophy?

Leinster Lightning is the current champion of the trophy by defeating North West warriors. 

Read More: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule


In this article, I have explained the brief history of the Inter-Provincial Trophy (a renowned cricket brand), having completed 10 editions and including four franchises with 18 matches. You will know briefly about the most triumphant team & current champions of the Inter-Provincial Trophy. Moreover, some facts about the league are also mentioned in this column. The article also covers the winners & runners-up list of all the editions since its inception.

Inter-Provincial Trophy – Facts File & Figures:

Some of the facts about Inter-Provincial Trophy are as follow:

EventInter-Provincial Trophy
AdministratorCricket Ireland
Franchise4 teams
Total seasons10 series
Total Matches18
Current WinnerNorth West warriors
Most successful teamLeinster Lightning
Latest Series2022

Inter-Provincial Trophy’s Winners & Runners-up over the years:

This includes the winners & Runners-up of all the seasons since league’s inaugural series:

2013Leinster LightningNorth West warriors
2014North West warriorsLeinster Lightning
2015Leinster LightningNorth West warriors
2016Leinster LightningNorth West warriors
2017Leinster LightningNorth West warriors
2018Leinster LightningNorth West warriors
2019Northern KnightsNorth West warriors
2020Leinster LightningNorthern Knights
2021North West warriorsLeinster Lightning
2022North West warriorsLeinster Lightning
Previous articleSuper Smash Cricket League Winners List 2005-2021
Next articleT20 Blast Winners List 2003-2022