My WordPress Blog

Caribbean Premier League Winners List 2013-2021

The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is an official T20 Cricket tournament established by its administrator West Indies Cricket Board, in 2013. The well-known cricket association (CPL) attracts all the cricket fans worldwide from August-September yearly, having 34 matches. The President of Cricket West Indies notifies the prize money, franchise revenue system, player acquisition, squad composition, salaries, formats, and rules.

What are the names of the Caribbean Premier League franchises and their captains?

There are a total of six teams in the Caribbean Premier League, i.e., Barbados Royals (Jason Holder), St Kitts & Nevis Patriots (Dwayne Bravo), Jamaica Tallawahs (Rovman Powell), Guyana Amazon Warriors (Shai Hope), Trinbago Knight Riders (Kieron Pollard), Saint Lucia Kings (Faf du Plessis).

Which is the most successful team in Caribbean Tournament?

As far as the most victorious team of CPL is concerned, Trinbago Knight Riders have the highest winning streak compared to other franchises, with four titles since the league’s inaugural season.

Who is the current winner of CPL?

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots are the current champions of the Caribbean Cricket Association by gaining 3 wickets against Saint Lucia Kings in the final of CPL 2021.

Who are the top scorer & top sixes in Hero CPL?

If we talk about the top scorer, Lendl Simmons is ranked on the top list of high scorers with 2436 scores, who played 93 cricket games up till now. In contrast, most numbers of sixers are 162 by Chris Gayle in 76 matches.

Tournament Format:

As far as tournament format is concerned, CPL is categorized into group & knockout stages, held among all the six franchises. Each of the 6 teams plays 10 matches in all the six franchise’s home grounds, and then the tournament carries 2 semi-final matches before the final champion of the CPL. 

Read More: Bangladesh Premier League Winners & Runners Up Details


In this article, I have written about Caribbean Premier League, with the completion of nine series (As of 2021), having six franchises. You will know briefly about the most successful team, current champions, high runners, top sixers, etc. The article also covers the CPL facts file & winners since the tournament’s inception.

CPL Facts File & Figures:

LeagueCaribbean Premier League
AdministratorWest Indies Cricket Board
Total Seasons9
Current WinnerSt Kitts & Nevis Patriots
Most Successful teamTrinbago Knight Riders (4 Titles)
High ScoresLendi Simmons (2629)
Highest Wicket-TakerDwayne Bravo (114)

CPL Winners & Runners Up over the years:

YearWinnerRunner Up
2013Jamaica TallawahsGuyana Amazon Warriors
2014Barbados RoyalsGuyana Amazon Warriors
2015Trinbago Knight RidersBarbados Royals
2016Jamaica TallawahsGuyana Amazon Warriors
2017Trinbago Knight RidersSt Kitts & Nevis Patriots
2018Trinbago Knight RidersGuyana Amazon Warriors
2019Barbados RoyalsGuyana Amazon Warriors
2020Trinbago Knight RidersSt Lucia Zouks
2021St Kitts & Nevis PatriotsSt Lucia Zouks