KFC Big Bash League (BBL) is an official Australian T20 Cricket association formulated in 2011 by its administrator, Australia Cricket Board. BBL is considered the most victorious Cricket brand after the Indian Premier League (IPL), fascinating Cricket fans from all across the globe. 

Big Bash tournament is unorthodox, having a different yet incredible class than all other leagues, initiating the trend of bat toss instead of a coin flip in the 2018-19 series. The renowned association has completed 10 editions since its inaugural season and will host the 11th series from December 05, 2022, to January 28, 2023.

What are the names of the Big Bash League franchises and their captains?

There are a total of eight teams in the Big Bash Cricket Association, i.e., Adelaide Strikers (Travis Head), Hobart Hurricane (Matthew Wade), Brisbane Heat (Jimmy Peirson), Melbourne Stars (Glenn Maxwell), Perth Scorchers (Ashton Turner), Sydney Sixers (Moises Henriques), Melbourne Renegades (Aaron Finch) & Sydney Thunder (Usman Khawaja), and will be playing 61 matches against each other. 
Both Melbourne & Sydney have 2 teams each. 

Which team is the most successful in Big Bash League?

As far as the most triumphant team of BBL is concerned, The Perth Scorchers has the highest winning streak compared to other franchises, with four titles since the league’s inception. 

Tournaments Format:

Big Bash Association has followed the same tournament format since BBL’s 2nd season (28 group stage matches), while the inaugural season observed 32 matches. All of the teams play approximately 56 regular matches before the final tournament. 

Read More: History of Sydney Cricket Ground & Upcoming Matches

Before the 2017-18 series, Group stage games are held in total 8 rounds, with each franchise playing eight stage matches. Afterward, the management decided to organize 10 matches by each team before the semi-final round, and the final match was to be held on the ground of the highest-ranked team. 


In this article, I have written about Big Bash League ( top-ranked cricket association worldwide), having completed ten series (As of 2022), which include eight franchises. BBL has an innovative and upgraded tournament format. The article also covers the BBL facts file & winners since its inauguration.

Big Bash League-Facts File:

SeriesBig Bash League (BBL)
Operator/AdministratorAustralia Cricket Board
Total Number of Franchise8 teams
Total Seasons10
Current WinnerThe Perth Scorchers (4th Title)
Most successful teamThe Perth Scorchers
High scoresChris Lynn (3005)
Highest Wicket-TakerSean Abbott (125)
Latest Series2021-22

BBL Winners over the Years:

YearWinnerRunner-upFinal Venue
2011-12Sydney SixersPerth ScorchersWACA Ground
2012-13Brisbane HeatPerth ScorchersWACA Ground
2013-14Perth ScorchersHobart HurricanesWACA Ground
2014-15Perth ScorchersSydney SixersManuka Oval
2015-16Sydney ThunderMelbourne StarsMelbourne Cricket Ground
2016-17Perth ScorchersSydney SixersWACA Ground
2017-18Adelaide StrikersHobart HurricanesAdelaide Oval
2018-19Melbourne RenegadesMelbourne StarsDocklands Stadium
2019-20Sydney SixersMelbourne StarsSydney Cricket Ground
2020-21Sydney SixersPerth ScorchersSydney Cricket Ground
2021-2022Perth ScorchersSydney SixersMelbourne Cricket Ground
Previous articleHistory of Asia Cup 1984-2022
Next articleAsia Cup 2022 Shifted to UAE from Sri Lanka