Star Pacer Shaheen Afridi is ruled out of the upcoming Asia Cup 2022 after suffering an injury to the right knee ligament while fielding during the first Test against Sri Lanka in Galle. The report said he would not be available for the Asia Cup 2022 & home series against England. The cricketer is advised to rest properly for at least 4-6 weeks by the medical team of PCB. It is expected that Afridi will be back for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia this year & be a part of Pakistan’s white ball squad.

Let’s look at five options PCB may consider choosing a replacement for Shaheen Afridi at the Asia Cup

Mir Hamza:

If Pakistan selectors are looking for the best replacement for Shaheen, then fellow Pacer Mir Hamza seems to be a great option. Hamza played once for the Pakistan Cricket team during a Test match against Australia in Abu Dhabi in 2018. Anyhow, selecting Hamza would be a surprise for the public.

Hassan Ali:

Hassan Ali is a right-arm medium-fast bowler who has been a game-changer for Pakistan Cricket Team throughout his career. At first, selectors decided to leave him out of Asia Cup while selecting their 15-player squad for the six-team tournament. Ali is a proven performer at the international level and would likely slot if given a reprieve by selectors.

Read More: Asia Cup 2022 Schedule

Zaman Khan:

The 20-year-old pacer Zaman Khan impressed the nation during this year’s edition of the Pakistan Super League after taking 18 wickets for the Lahore Qalandars. Pakistan Cricket Team could do worse than giving the right-arm first taste of the big time as he has been compared with legendary Sri Lankan fast bowler Lasith Malinga.

Read More: Top 3 Possible Opening Partnership for Indian team in ICC men’s T20 World Cup 2022

Muhammad Amir:

After Shaheen was blown out of the Asia Cup, Mohammad Amir started trending on social media as cricket fans wanted Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to select him as an Afridi replacement.

Previous articleAsia Cup 2022 Schedule Date, Time, Venue & Prediction Updates
Next articlePakistan Super League (PSL) Winners List 2016-2022