Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is an official T20 tournament, which runs yearly from August to May; & established by Bangladesh Cricket Board in 2011. BPL is the 16th most commercialized, innovative, and one of the most-watched league, which engages the cricket fans from all over the globe, with 38 total matches. The League observed its first series in February 2012, led by Governing Council Chairman in Dhaka, & completed 8 editions up till now since the tournament’s inception. One startling fact about BPL is that it has been beholding its final round in the same ground, Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, since its inaugural series. 

What are the names of the Bangladesh Premier League franchises and their current captains?

BPL includes a total of 6 teams currently, i.e., Comilla Victorians (Imrul Kayes), Chattogram Challengers (Afif Hussain), Minister Dhaka (Mahmudullah), Fortune Barishal (Shakib Al Hassan), Sylhet Sunrisers (Ravi Bopara) & Khulna Tigers (Mushfiqur Rahim).

Which team is the most successful in Bangladesh Premier League?

As far as the most victorious franchise of BPL is concerned, Comilla Victorians are on the top, crowned championship with 3 titles. 

Who is the current winner of BPL?

Comilla Victorians are the current champions of the Bangladesh Cricket Association. They successfully made up to the final round, conquering their opponent Fortune Barishal by scoring 151 runs, hailed the final match, and took the trophy home.

The primary source of BPL’s revenue generation:

Bangladesh cricket association earns revenue by different means, i.e., sponsorship, authorization agreements, ticket vending & several other mediums.

Read More: Big Bash League – An Australian Cricket Brand Complete Details

Most Runs:
Tamim Iqbal- 2628 runs, 38.64 Ave. (2012- to date)
Mushfiqur Rahim- 2525 runs, 37.13 Ave. (2012- to date)
Mahmudullah- 2075 runs, 27.66 Ave. (2012- to date)
Imrul kayes- 1970 runs, 24.62 Ave. (2012- to date)
Anamul Haque- 1808 runs, 22.04 Ave. (2012- to date)


In this article, I have written about Bangladesh Premier League, having completed 8 seasons (As of 2022), which include six franchises. As far as BPL tournaments’ format is concerned, it includes double round-robin & Playoffs, hence considered an unorthodox tournament format. Moreover, League’s income generation from various sources, most triumphant team & recent champions are also well described in this column. The article also covers the BPL facts file, winners & runners-up list since its inception.

BPL – Facts File & Figures:

LeagueBangladesh Premier League
Operator/AdministratorBangladesh Cricket Board
Total Number of Franchise6
Total seasons8
Current WinnerComilla Victorians
Most successful teamComilla Victorians
High scoresTamim Iqbal (2628)
Highest Wicket-TakerShakib Al Hassan (122)

BPL – Winners & Runners-Up over the years:

2012Dhaka Gladiators (8 wickets)Barisal Burners
2012-13Dhaka Gladiators (43 runs)Chittagong Kings
2015-16Comilla Victorians (3 Wickets)Barisal Bulls
2016-17Dhaka Dynamites (56 runs)Rajshahi Kings
2017-18Rangpur Riders (57 runs)Dhaka Dynamites
2018-19Comilla Victorians (17 runs)Dhaka Dynamites
2019-20Rajshahi Royals (21 runs)Khulna Tigers
2021-22Comilla Victorians (1 runs)Fortune Barishal
Previous articleTop 3 Possible Opening Partnership for Indian team in ICC men’s T20 World Cup 2022
Next articleLanka Premier League Winners List 2020-2021 | Complete Information