Asian cricket council inaugurated the Asia cup in 1983, having ODI & T20 alternative tournament formats every two years. The first tournament of the Asia cup was held in Sharjah, in which India became the champions by defeating Sri Lanka. The most victorious team in the Asia cup is India, who earned 7 titles, while Sri Lanka is at number 2.

When will Asia Cup 2022 start?

Sri Lanka can no longer organize the Asia cup event because of the current economic crises in its home country, so ICC decided that UAE will host the Asia Cup 2022 officially. Asia Cup will start from August 27 to September 11 in a 20-over format, including 9 teams at three venues in UAE.

Reason for shifting Asia Cup from Sri Lanka to UAE:

Asian Cricket Council president announced repositioning the 2022 series on July 27, 2022, because of adverse economic circumstances in Sri Lanka. Unfortunately, the country is facing the worst political instability, shortage of fuel, high inflation & has gone bankrupt. ACC, along with SLC, made every possible effort not to move the Asia cup 2022 to any other country but Without Avail. 

Sri Lanka Cricket Chief Executive elaborated on some of the main reasons for not being able to hold the tournament in their homeland; “can’t handle 10 teams security & transportation at a time”. 

It was challenging for ACC to choose the Asia cup 2022 host country, so after many meetings, the administrator finalized UAE for the event.

Read More: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule, Date & Time Teams, Venue

Who made the record of getting high runs in the Asia Cup since its inception?

Sanath Jayasuriya, a former Sri Lanka cricketer, won the most run record (1220) among all other cricket professionals. 

Who is the most wickets-taker in all editions of the Asia Cup?

Lasith Malinga from the Sri Lanka team had taken more wickets (33) in Asia Cup since its inaugural event. 

Read More: Legends League Cricket Teams & Results

Asia Cup 2022 Facts File & Figures:

EventAsia Cup
Hosting countryUAE
Most Successful TeamIndia (7 titles)
1st Edition1984
Recent Edition2018
New Edition2022
Starts On27 August
Ends On11 September
Previous articleBig Bash League – An Australian Cricket Brand Complete Details
Next articleSuper Smash Cricket League Winners List 2005-2021